Democritus University of Thrace

democ cutDemocritus University of Thrace was founded in June 1973 by means of Legislative Decree 87/1973 and opened its doors to students in the academic year 1974-1975. It was named after Democritus, the ancient Greek philosopher who was born in the ancient city of Abdera in Thrace.

The Administrative seat of Democritus University of Thrace is located in Komotini, capital city of the Region of Eastern Macedonia-Thrace.

Today, Democritus University of Thrace has eight Faculties which comprise eighteen Departments in total, located in four cities; seven of those Departments are in Komotini, five in Xanthi, four in Alexandroupolis and two in Orestiada, with a total student population of 26.000.

Democritus University of Thrace plays a significant role in reinforcing the national and cultural identity of the area of Thrace. Thanks to the top class studies it provides, the quality of its teaching and excellent research conducted by its teaching and research staff, it has ensured a place among the best Greek Universities.

Democritus University of Thrace is a state university with full administrative autonomy, supervised and funded by the Ministry of Education.

The University Board, the Rector and the Senate are the administrative and academic authorities of the University.